Provost & Academic Affairs

Pacific University is a unique and creative institution, where great things are happening in research, teaching and learning, community engagement and academic life. As the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, I am delighted to be part of this university as it continues to expand its reach.

I hope your time at Pacific, whether you are a student, faculty or staff member, is a fulfilling experience, and that it exceeds your expectations.

John S. Miller | Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
provost@pacificu.edu | 503-352-2215
Marsh Hall | Room 307

Academic Officers

John S. Miller | Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
provost@pacificu.edu | 503-352-2215

Christopher Wilkes: Vice Provost for Research
wilkesc@pacificu.edu

Alfonso Lopez-Vasquez | Director of Diversity
alfonsolv@pacificu.edu

John Hayes | Director of Center for a Sustainable Society
jhayes@pacificu.edu

William O’Shea | Director of Institutional Research and Assessment
osheawa@pacificu.edu

Ken Schumann | Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
schumank@pacficu.edu

Steve Prag | Director of International Programs
sprag@pacificu.edu

Marita Kunkel | Director of Libraries
marita.kunkel@pacificu.edu

Anne Herman | Registrar 
hermana@pacificu.edu

Administrative Support

Maggie Olivos | Executive Assistant to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
molivos@pacificu.edu

Karla Staihar | Assistant to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
karlas@pacificu.edu

Kim Greenwood | Administrative Aide to University Governance
kimg@pacificu.edu

Academic Programs

Lisa Carstens | Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences 
carstens@pacificu.edu
Forest Grove and Portland

Howard Smith | Dean of the College of Business 
hsmith@pacificu.edu
Forest Grove

Leif Gustavson | Dean of the College of Education 
gustavson@pacificu.edu
Forest Grove, Eugene and Woodburn

Ann Barr-Gillespie | Vice Provost and Executive Dean of the College of Health Professions 
barr-gillespie@pacificu.edu
Hillsboro and Portland

Jennifer Smythe | Dean of the College of Optometry 
smythej@pacificu.edu
Forest Grove, Hillsboro, Beaverton, Cornelius and Portland

Academic Affairs Organizational Chart (pdf on vault)

Accreditation

Accreditation Data Nov 2013 (pdf on vault)
Accreditation Information

Governance

Board of Trustees Academic Affairs Committee
Provost's Council
University Council
Faculty Senate
Staff Senate

Related Links

Commencement and Convocation