Hiding and Revealing Items

You can selectively hide parts of your course site from students. In this way, you can build sections of your course and hide them until you are ready for students to see them.

Hiding a topic/weekly block

  1. Go to your course site and click the Turn editing on button.

  1. Click the icon of the open eye located in the far right of the block to hide. The open eye icon will change to a closed eye and the block will change to a gray color indicating it is hidden to students.

  1. To reveal the block again, click the icon of the closed eye.  The closed eye icon will change back to an open eye.

Hiding an individual resource or activity manually

  1. Go to your course site and click the Turn editing on button.

  2. Click the open eye icon to the right of the item to hide. The open eye icon will change to a closed eye, and the item will change to a gray color, indicating it is hidden to students.

  1. To reveal the item again, click the icon of the closed eye. The closed eye will change back to an open eye.

Hiding an individual resource or activity based on a date

Resources and activities can be scheduled to be revealed and hidden based on specified dates.

  1. Go to your course site and click the Turn editing on button.

  2. Click the edit icon beside the resource or activity you wish to reveal at a specified date.

  1. In the Restrict access section of the resource activity, make the following changes:

  1. Click the Save and return to course button.

Hiding a block

  1. Go to your course site and click the Turn editing on button.

  2. Click the icon of the open eye located under the title of the block to hide. The open eye icon will change to a closed eye and the block will change to a gray color indicating it is hidden to students.

  3. To reveal the block again, click the icon of the closed eye.  The closed eye icon will change back to an open eye.