Honors & Awards, Spring 2012

Featuring top accomplishments by Pacific University faculty and staff members Tayari Jones, Benjamin Percy, Cathy Evans, Erica Findley, Ken Eaklund and Sandra Pelham-Foster.

Cathy Evans

Cathy Evans, director of ophthalmic services in the College of Optometry, was named one of the Vision Monday magazine’s 50 Most Influential Women In Optical for 2011. Evans oversees the operations of the College’s five optical EyeTrends dispensaries, teaches optics to second-year optometry students, and provides continuing education for para-optometrics and opticians at conferences.

Erica Findley

Erica Findley, digital resources and metadata librarian at the Forest Grove campus, was selected as one of 75 librarians across the country for the American Library Association’s (ALA) Emerging Leaders program. The program’s aim is to enable newer library workers to participate in problem-solving work groups, network structure and have an opportunity to serve the profession in a leadership capacity.

Ken Eakland

Ken Eakland O.D. associate dean for the College of Optometry’s clinical programs, was honored by the Oregon Optometric Physicians Association for his work on issues related to third-party and eye-care benefits. He received the 2011 Agost-Minnick Award. Eaklund oversees the management of the College’s five community clinics and is the externship director for more than 100 other sites for optometry students.

Sandra Pelham-Foster

Sandra Pelham-Foster received the Occupational Therapy Association of Oregon’s (OTAO) highest honor when she was named the 2011 Grace Black Award winner at OTAO’s state conference. As the School of Occupational Therapy’s academic fieldwork coordinator,  she has doubled fieldwork placement opportunities for students and developed opportunities in six countries.

Tayari Jones and Benjamin Percy

Tayari Jones and Benjamin Percy, faculty members in the University’s highly touted master of fine arts in writing program, were each awarded $25,000 grants by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) this past fall. The NEA Literature Fellowships are awarded to published creative writers in prose to enable them to set aside time for writing, research, travel and general career advancement.