Restructuring Task Force

On Feb. 6, 2024, President Coyle announced the intent to form a Restructuring Task Force to explore an alternative university academic administrative structure that reduces the number of colleges from five to three or four, with undergraduate education focused within one college. As our institution has evolved significantly over the years, it is imperative to reassess our structures to ensure they effectively serve the needs of all students. This analysis is a critical part of improving our student experience and positioning the university for nimble growth in the future. 

The goals of restructuring are to provide a more unified and seamless experience at the undergraduate and graduate professional levels, strengthen organizational efficiency, identify ways to engage non-degree seeking students, reduce overhead/administrative expenses, have individual colleges that achieve contribution margins that support direct and indirect costs, reduce internal competition for resources between colleges/units, and to best situate the university for future growth. 

The Restructuring Task Force began its work Feb. 20, 2024, and information on the work of the group will be posted here.

Restructuring Task Force Charge

Restructuring Task Force Guidelines

Schedule for Work

Updates from the Restructuring Task Force

4/15/24 RTF Update
4/1/24 RTF Update
3/4/22 RTF Update
2/21/24 RTF Update


Ann Barr-Gillespie, Provost & Vice Pres. for Academic Affairs

Hossein Rikhtehgar Berenji, Assistant Professor, College of Business

Michael Boardman, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences

Keith Buckley, Director of Athletics

Fan Chen, Associate Professor, College of Business

Scott Cooper, Professor, College of Optometry

Karen Dunston, Associate VP of Enrollment Management, Undergraduate Admissions

Holly Erenfeld, Assistant Professor, College of Health Professions

Fraser Horn, Dean, College of Optometry

Beth Kinoshita, Professor, College of Optometry

Susan Pedersen, Director of Budget Operations & Reporting

Sarah Phillips, Interim VP Enrollment Management and Student Affairs

Josie Ragolia, Interim Dean, University Libraries

Nikol Roubidoux, Registrar

Andy Saultz, Interim Dean, College of Education

Leigh Schaid, Associate Professor, College of Health Professions

Paul Snell, Assistant Professor, College of Arts & Sciences

Laura Stallings, Dean of Student Wellbeing and Director of Student Counseling Center

Amanda Stead, Professor, College of Education

Mary Von, Vice Provost and Executive Dean, College of Health Professions

Linda Venenciano, Professor, College of Education

Jaye Cee Whitehead, Acting Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Jennifer Yruegas, Dean, College of Business

Kim Greenwood, Staff Support