Faculty and Student Spotlight and Accomplishments Spring 2022

Many of Pacific University School of Pharmacy faculty had promotions during this academic year. Several of our students were successful in presenting posters at annual meetings, with some winning scholarships. Congratulations to all of our faculty and students for a very successful year!

School of Pharmacy Faculty Promotions

  • Brandon Nuziale was appointed Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs (Jan. 15) and was promoted to associate professor and granted extended term.
  • Ian Doyle was promoted to full professor
  • Pauline Chatnick was promoted to full professor
  • Maddie Fry was promoted to associate professor and granted extended term
  • Sarah White was promoted to full professor

Pediatric Pharmacy Association Annual Meeting

PUSOP Student Poster Presentations

  • Seaney J, Gadda M, Rivera K, Wilson E, Rao D. Assessing compatibility of two intravenous lipid emulsions with continuous infusions commonly used in the neonatal intensive care unit. PPA Annual Meeting. Norfolk, VA. May 2022.
  • Veenhuis P, Muya F, Macalalag M, Wilson E, Marcus K. Light scattering vs. PFAT5 method for intravenous lipid emulsion compatibility studies: a scoping review. PPA Annual Meeting. Norfolk, VA. May 2022.

Podium Presentations at Pediatric Pharmacy Association Annual Meeting Presented by PUSOP Alumni:

  • Risk factors for dexmedetomidine withdrawal in critically ill pediatric patients. Paige Ruffier, PharmD, Class of 2021.
  • Treatment of ventilator associated tracheitis and ventilator associated pneumonia at a free-standing pediatric institution. Skyler Suchovsky, PharmD, Class of 2020.

Oregon Society for Health System Pharmacists 2022 Annual Seminar

  • Alumni & Friends Reception: A big thank you to Amber Hieb, Maddie Fry, Sandy Hess, Ryan Gibbard, and Brandon Nuziale for their hard work to have a successful and safe reception at the OSHP Annual Seminar in Sunriver, OR. In addition, our students, Megan Ott and Meagan Macalalag helped with the event, thank you!
  • Annual Seminar Committee Co-Chairs: Kristin Tallman, Brandon Nuziale
  • Officer Inductions: Ryan Gibbard inducted as incoming OSHP President (Congratulations Mr. President!)

CE Presentations

  • "Review of 2022 OSHP Advocacy Efforts and the Legislative Session" Mike Millard and Hyesso Chu
  • "Pharmacists Role in Palliative Care" Danielle Backus 

Clinical Pearls

  • "Drug Induced Photosensitivity" Lindsey Walker, PharmD '20

2022 Student Scholarship Winners:

  • Meagan Macalalag (Class of 2023) 
  • Megan Buell (Class of 2023) 
  • Kalina Rivera (Class of 2023) 
  • Hyunjoo (Julie) Lee (Class of 2023) 


  • "Pharmacists' Perceptions and Prescribing Habits of SGLT2 Inhibitors" Suleiman Abdelhade, PharmD Candidate 2022; Jessica Merlo, PharmD, BCACP  (2nd Place Student Poster Winner) 
  • "Impact of Pharmacist Interventions On Expanding Primary Care Mental Health Integration Services to Rural Veterans Affairs Clinics" Ayman Alholail'20, PharmD. PGY-2 Ambulatory Care Resident Katherine Peters-Daniel, PharmD. PCMHI Clinical Pharmacy Practitioner; Eugenia Su, PharmD BCPP. PCMHI Clinical Pharmacy Practitioner; Eugene VA Health Care Center
  • "Impact of Pharmacist Interventions on Alcohol Use Disorder Treatment in a Rural VA Setting" Lindsey Walker, PharmD'20;  Eugenia Su, PharmD, BCPP; Katherine Peters, PharmD; Sierra Carpenter,PharmD'18, VA Roseburg
  • "Implementing a pharmacist consultation process to improve glycemic control in patients admitted to an acute care community hospital: A needs assessment" Alexia J. Beard, PharmD'21; Kristy T. Nguyen, PharmD, MBA, MS, OHSU Hillsboro Medical Center
  • "Multidisciplinary Hepatitis C Treatment Program Outcomes at an Urban Federally Qualified Health Center" Jennifer J Stanislaw PharmD'18, BCACP; Megan Viehmann, PharmD, BCACP; Michelle Van Bogart; Dan Stein, PA-C, MPAS, Oregon Health and Sciences University 

2022 Oregon State Pharmacy Association Scholarship Winners

  • Megan Buell (Class of 2023)
  • Kalina Rivera (Class of 2023)
Thursday, June 9, 2022