Pharmacy Students, Faculty Garner Professional Praise

Pacific University garnered high praise at the 2017 Oregon Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists annual meeting in April, with faculty, students and alumni in the School of Pharmacy receiving top awards.

Second-year pharmacy student Erin Wilson ‘05 was named Student Pharmacist of the Year for her contributions to pharmacy student participation and her advocacy for health system pharmacy and community service. Wilson earned her undergraduate degree in education and learning from Pacific before joining the School of Pharmacy.

Rachel Seitz PharmD ’10 received the New Practitioner of the Year Award, given to pharmacists in their first 10 years of practice. Seitz is a pharmacist supervisor with St. Charles Health System in Bend and also serves as liaison for experiential outreach for the Pacific University School of Pharmacy.

Pacific faculty members Ian Doyle, Mike Millard and Eddie Saito also were recognized at the OHSP meeting in April. Doyle and Millard received the Presidential Recognition Award for their volunteerism with the organization, drawing a standing ovation from the crowd. Saito received the Distinguished Service Award for his contributions to professional organizations and ongoing delivery of pharmacy services. Saito is an assistant professor at Pacific and also a clinical pharmacist with the Virginia Garcia Memorial Health Center.

Sarah Deines is an affiliate professor at Pacific, who is director of the community residency program at Virginia Garcia Memorial Health Center in Hillsboro and a practicing ambulatory care pharmacist. She received the Board of Directors’ Award for her persistent contributions to the advancement of the OSHP mission.

The annual meeting also served as an opportunity for Pacific pharmacy faculty and students to demonstrate their academic scholarship. Faculty members Steve Arendt, Anita Cleven, Maddie Fry, David Fuentes, Courtney Krause, Mike Millard and Marina Suzuki made podium presentations offering continuing education to participants.

Wilson and fellow student Kamryn Plechot ’15, PharmD ‘18 received first place in the student poster competition for work supervised by faculty members Brigg Turner and Fawzy Elbarbry. Jennifer Stanislaw PharmD ‘18, Hayley Heers PharmD ‘18, Zach Mullenax PharmD ‘17 and Stephen Black ‘15 received third place for work supervised by faculty member John Harrelson.

Faculty members Black, Elbarbry, Harrelson, and Turner, along with Bridget Bradley, Madison Davis, Leslie Devaud, Quintin Love ‘16, Sigrid Roberts and Brendan Stamper also made poster presentations.

Finally, first-year pharmacy student Kenneth Garcia PharmD ‘19 was awarded the OSHP Scholarship.

The Pacific University School of Pharmacy is one of two pharmacy programs in Oregon, offering a three-year pathway to a doctoral degree.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017