Ryann Lewis DPT '20 Receives OPTA Emerging Student Leader Award

Please join us in congratulating second-year physical therapy student Ryann Lewis '20) on receiving the Oregon Physical Therapy Association – 2019 Emerging Student Leader Award. 

The Chief Delegate of the Oregon Physical Therapy Association (OPTA), Dr. Michael Pagliarulo contacted Ryann with the news that she was selected for this prestigious award from a group of highly qualified second year students.  For this award, Ryann submitted an essay about her leadership and her role in fulfilling the Vision of the American Physical Therapy Association, two letters of support, and her CV. 

The OPTA Emerging Student Leader Award was created to foster leadership in physical therapist and physical therapist assistant students by providing opportunities for involvement in our professional organizations, the Oregon Physical Therapy Association and the American Physical Therapy Association. This award gives students first-hand experience in the governance of our profession at the state and national levels.

The award recipient is encouraged to attend leadership meetings for the OPTA including Board of Directors meetings, strategic planning sessions, Government Affairs Committee meetings, and Oregon Delegate meetings, among others. The recipient also receives support from the OPTA to attend the APTA House of Delegates, which is the policy-making body of our national organization. Additional information about the award can be found at the OPTA website.

Ryann Lewis ('2020) Ryann Lewis ‘20 added, “I feel extremely honored to receive this prestigious award from amongst the other well qualified DPT students. I was shocked when I heard the news from Dr. Pagliarulo! I am thankful to Dr. Sanders and Dr. Chui for their help and all of the Pacific faculty for encouraging my passions. I am excited to represent Pacific University and my fellow SPTs at the APTA House of Delegates meeting in Chicago and help to foster further positive change in the PT profession.”


Dec. 11, 2018