School of Pharmacy Recognizes Achievements at OSPA Conference

OSPA Self Care Challenge team

Self Care Challenge team (from left): Andrew Caranto ('20), Pharmacy faculty member Jeff Fortner, Jason Doctor ('20), Mike Oman ('20), Jeffrey Li ('20), Emily Shephard ('19), Mona Phan ('21), Kristina Dwarka ('21), Claire Rutledge ('19), Ashley Oropeza ('21), Brianda Alcazar Polvos ('21), Stephanie Tommaso ('21), and Kelly Royster ('21) and Maggie Noble ('21, not shown).

Congratulations to Pacific University School of Pharmacy students, alumni, faculty, and administrators for their achievements at the Oregon State Pharmacy Association (OSPA) Annual Convention & Trade Show that took place this past weekend in Portland!

  • Annual Self Care Challenge: this annual competition occurred on Saturday between students from OSU College of Pharmacy and our School of Pharmacy. Our students won the competition and took home the prize! Thanks to the help and leadership from Dr. Fortner and faculty member Andrew Bzowyckyj, our students proved to master OTC medications. Thank you Jeff and Andrew and congratulations to the winners— we are proud of your knowledge and commitment!
  • Amber McKay (PharmD, '11) was awarded “Excellence in Innovation Award”. We are proud of her achievement!
  • Faculty member and alumna Maddie Fry (PharmD, '14) and her team from the Oregon Board of Pharmacy, Kaiser Permanente, and Consonus Health presented on the topic of “Medication Adherence Strategies”. Thank you Maddie!
  • Anita Cleven, Assistant Dean for Experiential Education, and her counterpart from OSU College of Pharmacy presented a preceptor development topic titled “The Power of Positive Engagement to Motivate the Poor Performer”. Thank you Anita!

Please join me in congratulating everyone for their dedication and awards.

Monday, Oct. 15, 2018