University's 19th Annual Undergraduate Philosophy Conference Set for This Weekend

More than 150 students representing universities from throughout North America will convene in Forest Grove April 17-18 for Pacific University's 19th annual Undergraduate Philosophy Conference.

The conference opens Friday evening with a banquet in the University Center's Multipurpose Room, followed by a live recording of nationally syndicated radio program Philosophy Talk in the Tom Miles Theatre at 7:30 p.m. Hosted by philosophy professors John Perry (University of California, Riverside) and Ken Taylor (Stanford University), Philosophy Talk explores a wide variety of issues ranging from popular culture to deeply-held beliefs about science, morality and the human condition.

Tufts University (Mass.) professor Daniel Dennett, author of Freedom Evolves, will join Perry and Taylor to discuss "Neuroscience and Free Will." Due to the limited seating capacity of the Miles Theatre, the program is only open to registered conference attendees, and will air at a later date.

Philosophy Talk is making its fifth appearance at Pacific University as part of its 2015 Tour of Oregon, which included stops at Oregon State University in Corvallis (Apr. 15) and Oregon Public Broadcasting in Portland (Apr. 16).

The conference continues Saturday with the first of four paper sessions at 8 a.m. and into the early evening. Students will present papers on a vast array of topics ranging from philosophers like Nietzsche and Kant to bio-ethics, race and many others. Dennett will give the keynote presentation, "Information as Design Worth Stealing," at 11:30 a.m.

Colleges and Universities Represented:
Alma College (Mich.)
The University of Arizona
Boise State University (Idaho)
Boston University (Mass.)
California State University, Fullerton
Carleton College (Minn.)
Central Washington University
University of Chicago (Ill.)
Clatsop Community College (Ore.)
University of Colorado
Dartmouth College (N.H.)
Denison University (Ohio)
Eastern Washington University
Fort Lewis College (Colo.)
Furman University (S.C.)
The George Washington University (D.C.)
Grand Valley State University (Mich.)
Humboldt State University (Calif.)
Iowa State University
Kansas State University
Knox College (Ill.)
Lebanon Valley College (Pa.)
Lewis & Clark College (Ore.)
University of Louisville (Ky.)
McGill University (Quebec, Canada)
McMaster University (Ont., Canada)
Metropolitan State University in Denver (Colo.)
Michigan State University
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
University of Nebraska at Kearney
University of Nevada, Reno
The New School (N.Y.)
University of North Dakota
University of North Florida
North Idaho College
Northern Arizona University
University of Oregon
Pacific University (Ore.)
University of Portland (Ore.)
Portland State University (Ore.)
Princeton University (N.J.)
University of Puget Sound (Wash.)
Reed College (Ore.)
Regis University (Colo.)
Rhodes College (Tenn.)
San Jose State University (Calif.)
Thompson Rivers University (B.C., Canada)
University of Toronto (Ont., Canada)
Trinity Western University (B.C., Canada)
Truman University (Mo.)
University of Utah
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Washburn University (Kan.)
Weber State University (Utah)
West Virginia University
Whitworth University (Wash.)

Thursday, April 16, 2015