Meet the Undergraduate CLASS Tutors

Ana Valenciano Prieto
Foreign Language Teaching Assistant and Spanish Tutor (she/her)

¡Hola! I am Ana, a Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant from Madrid, Spain. I am excited to help you to strengthen your Spanish communication skills. I have been living and teaching Spanish since I finished college, around the globe, in Asia, Europe, and now in the U.S! I am a bookworm, a nature lover, an adventurous traveler, and a dancing soul. I am excited to explore around and keep learning with you all!

Occupational Therapy and Writing Peer Tutor (she/her)

Hello! My name is Cindy, and I am a second-year occupational therapy student. My favorite occupations include hiking, camping, kayaking — pretty much anything that takes place outdoors! I look forward to supporting my fellow peers succeed academically.

Biology Peer Tutor

Hello everyone! This is my third year as a Pacific student. I'm a biology major who enjoys anything related to animals and the natural world in general. In my free time, I'm usually drawing, playing video games, or making fun of bad TV shows with my friends.

Conor Barres
Biology and Chemistry Peer Tutor (he/him)

I am currently a dual major in biology and Spanish. I enjoy playing soccer and am currently playing on the men's soccer team here at Pacific. I am eager to tutor and get to know more of my peers and talk a lot about biology and chemistry.

Writing Peer Tutor (he/him)

Hello, I am an English literature and creative writing major here at Pacific. I love primarily writing horror, thriller and mysteries; however, I also like doing nonfiction work such as literary analysis. I’m excited to have this opportunity to help my fellow peers perfect their writing.

Music Peer Tutor (he/him)

I'm a music education major and saxophonist. Music and teaching are both super important to me, and I'm excited to work with all of the music theory and survey students to help develop strategies and frameworks for better understanding the music we love so much!

Physical Therapy Peer Tutor (she/her)

I'm a second-year student in the DPT program and am excited to be a tutor this year because I know that being in a study group with all different styles of learning helped me approach problems from different perspectives and get me through my first year! I look forward to sharing the study tips I've learned from my first year and helping other students find the learning style that works best for them. I've lived in Oregon for almost seven years now and love all the typical PNW things - hiking, biking, paddleboarding, craft beer, and hanging out with my new puppy, Tilly!

Physical Therapy Peer Tutor

I am a third-year DPT student originally from Colorado. I love exploring new places and am always up for an outdoor adventure and a coffee! I love tutoring because I can help empower students to implement new and unique study strategies.

Mathematics and Chemistry Peer Tutor (he/him)

Hey! I am in love with all animals, so I am majoring in biology as well as math and minoring in chemistry. There is almost no greater feeling in a class than feeling like you actually understand the material, and I hope to be able to give everyone that feeling.

Janek Margardt
Foreign Language Teaching Assistant and German Tutor (he/him)

I'm the FLTA from Germany. I am excited to help you become better at my native language!

Writing Peer Tutor (they/them)

Hello! I'm currently a double major in music ed and applied sustainability, something that definitely keeps me pretty busy. I've been very interested in writing for as long as I can remember and poetry is very near and dear to my heart. I'm excited to help in whatever way I can!

Accounting Peer Tutor (he/him)

Hi, my name is Joey Hu and I am a senior accounting major. I am excited to start tutoring because I enjoy meeting and helping others.

American Sign Language Peer Tutor (she/her)

I am an education and applied theatre double major, and I have loved learning American Sign Language for over three years. I also enjoy thrift-shopping, reading, and learning random pieces of trivia! I'm really excited to be a resource for students and support them however I can.

Mathematics and Economics Peer Tutor and Peer Academic Coach (he/him)

I am an Economics and Mathematics double major with a passion for learning. Outside of the classroom, I enjoy running and exploring new places to eat in Portland. I am excited to be a tutor and revisit some of my favorite topics in math and econ.

Chemistry Peer Tutor (she/her)

I am a junior majoring in chemistry and minoring in biology. Outside of school, I enjoy playing the guitar, ukulele and bass. I look forward to helping students understand chemistry better in each and every tutoring session!

Writing Peer Tutor (she/her)

I am in my third year in the clinical psychology doctoral program (PsyD) program. I am excited to be a writing tutor because I believe that being able to write succinctly and concisely is an important skill. In my spare time, I enjoy hiking, snowboarding, and reading.

Occupational Therapy and Writing Peer Tutor (she/her)

Hi! My name is Madelon Jones, and I am a second-year doctoral candidate of the School of Occupational Therapy. Outside of classes, I enjoy hiking, running, interacting with animals, and meeting new people. I am excited to empower students and help them master new skills academically.

Writing Peer Tutor (she/her)

I am a psychology/philosophy double major, and my main interests are in mental health, metaphysics and spirituality. Fun fact: I have a 3-year-old blonde rescue pitty named Zozo, and she is the sweetest lady. I'm super excited to start tutoring because I will be able to meet with so many people I would not have gotten the chance to otherwise as well as will be able to build upon their current writing skills.

Japanese Peer Tutor (she/her)

I am a senior from Osaka, Japan, majoring in biology and Spanish. I love cooking, exercising, traveling, cuddling with animals, sipping on a hot latte, and everything about Christmas.

Writing and Statistics Peer Tutor (she/her)

I grew up in a small town by the water called Astoria, Ore. I am majoring in chemistry with a focus in toxicology as well as minoring in art. Though I enjoy science and art, I have found a love for both writing and reading. I look forward to tutoring writing this year, as I have personally experienced the benefits that come from frequent use of CLASS. I also hope to help others improve to meet their own personal goals for their own writing.

Physical Therapy Peer Tutor (she/her)

Hello, my name is Noël, and I am a second-year DPT student. I am excited to be a tutor because it allows me to provide support and encouragement to my peers during their transition to graduate-level academics, while also helping me to continue learning about subjects that I am interested in. Outside of school, I enjoy cooking, going on walks, and trying out new restaurants in Portland.

Biology and Writing Peer Tutor (she/her)

Hi! I am currently a junior majoring in biology. I also play center mid for the women's soccer team here at Pacific! I'm super excited to start tutoring and hope to create an environment for learning that is less intimidating than office hours.

Mathematics and Physics Peer Tutor (she/her)

I am currently studying physics and mathematics. I was a remote student in 2020-2021 so tutoring and learning from my peers really helped my studies. I hope to bring the same experience to more people so we can work together to learn better.

Pharmacy Peer Tutor (she/her)

Hi! I am a second-year pharmacy student, and I am really excited to be a CLASS tutor this year! I really enjoy helping others which is why I hope to support students as much as I can and be a resource to them as they navigate through the new curriculum. When I have spare time I enjoy crocheting, cooking, catching up on TV shows, and hiking.

Physical Therapy Peer Tutor (she/her)

Hello! My name is Sara and I am a third-year Doctor of Physical Therapy student. When I'm not in class you can find me reading, trying new coffee shops and breweries, and exploring the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I'm excited about tutoring because it allows me to help my colleagues feel supported and confident as they tackle the challenges of graduate-level academics.

Spanish Peer Tutor (she/her)

¡Hola a todos! My name is Sophia, and I am a third-year double major in Spanish and philosophy. Outside of class, I am most likely playing music, drinking boba, or biking around the Grove. I am very passionate about school and am looking forward to helping you in your Spanish courses this year. Hope to work with you soon!

Chinese Peer Tutor (she/her)

I'm a sophomore and am currently undecided, but am planning to double minor in Chinese and Japanese. I love doing anything outdoors, whether it be surfing, hiking, or chilling at the beach! I also enjoy painting and photography! I'm excited to become a tutor and help others succeed! I look forward to being a part of/ creating an environment that makes everyone feel safe and motivated to excel to the best of their abilities!

Yann Maquin
Foreign Language Teaching Assistant and French Tutor (he/they)

I'm a teaching assistant coming from Jura, France. I'm very excited to share with y'all my culture and my language! I'm up for anything so don't hesitate to come to ask questions or to have a chat!