Holiday Schedule

Benefit-eligible employees receive the following paid holidays. University offices typically close these days, as well.

Some offices or departments may require some minimal coverage during these periods, particularly during the winter break. Managers are responsible for determining the staffing needs of their area. Individuals who work during the December break will receive regular pay for the time worked and will be allowed time off at regular pay at an agreed upon time. Holidays are subject to change due to COVID-19 and at the discretion of the university.

 

Holidays | 2021

New Year’s Day | 1 day
Friday, January 1, 2021

Martin Luther King Jr. Day | 1 day
Monday, January 18, 2021

Memorial Day | 1 day
Monday, May 31, 2021

Independence Day | 1 day
Monday, July 5, 2021 (Observed)

Labor Day | 1 day
Monday, September 6, 2021

Veterans Day | 1 day
Thursday, November 11, 2021

Thanksgiving | 2.5 days
Noon Wednesday, November 24 to Friday, November 26, 2021 

Winter Break | 7 days
Thursday, December 23 to Friday, December 31, 2021 (return to work on Tuesday, January 4, 2022)

 

Holidays | 2022

New Year’s Day | 1 day
Monday, January 3, 2022 (Observed)

Martin Luther King Jr. Day | 1 day
Monday, January 17, 2022

Memorial Day | 1 day
Monday, May 30, 2022

Juneteenth | 1 day
Monday, June 20, 2022

Independence Day | 1 day
Monday, July 4, 2022 

Labor Day | 1 day
Monday, September 5, 2022

Veterans Day | 1 day
Friday, November 11, 2022

Thanksgiving | 2.5 days
Noon Wednesday, November 23 to Friday, November 25, 2022

Winter Break | 7 days
Thursday, December 22 to Friday, December 30, 2022 (return to work on Tuesday, January 3, 2023)

 

Floating Holidays

Pacific benefit-eligible staff employees receive two paid floating holidays, to be taken at their discretion with prior approval from their supervisor. Floating holidays expire at the end of each calendar year and cannot be accumulated. New hires who start work before May 1 receive two floating holidays in their first calendar year. New hires who start between May 1 and Aug. 31 receive one floating holiday in their first calendar year. New hires who start after Sept. 1 do not receive floating holidays in the first calendar year.