Holiday Schedule

Benefit-eligible employees receive the following paid holidays. University offices typically close these days, as well.

Some offices or departments may require some minimal coverage during these periods, particularly during the winter break. Managers are responsible for determining the staffing needs of their area. Individuals who work during the December break will receive regular pay for the time worked and will be allowed time off at regular pay at an agreed upon time.

Holidays

Martin Luther King Day | 1 day
Monday, Jan. 20, 2020

Memorial Day | 1 day
Monday, May 25, 2020

Independence Day | 1 day
Friday, July 3, 2020

Labor Day | 1 day
Monday, Sept. 7, 2020

Veterans Day | 1 day
Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2020

Thanksgiving | 2.5 days
Noon Wednesday, Nov. 25 to Friday, Nov. 27, 2020 

Winter Break | 7 days
Thursday, Dec. 24, 2020 to Friday, Jan. 1, 2021 (return to work on Monday, January 4, 2021)

Floating Holidays

Pacific benefit-eligible staff employees receive two paid floating holidays, to be taken at their discretion with prior approval from their supervisor. Floating holidays expire at the end of each calendar year and cannot be accumulated. New hires who start work before May 1 receive two floating holidays in their first calendar year. New hires who start between May 1 and Aug. 31 receive one floating holiday in their first calendar year. New hires who start after Sept. 1 do not receive floating holidays in the first calendar year.