College of Optometry Shines at AOA Meeting in Seattle

The mission of the College of Optometry includes the preparation of “optometric leaders.”  From the awards given out at the recent American Optometric Association (AOA) annual meeting held last week in Seattle, Washington, the college produced an abundance of leaders.

Steven A. Loomis, OD ’79, of Littleton, Colorado, was installed as President of the AOA, which represents approximately 39,000 doctors of optometry, optometry students and Paraoptometric assistants.

Two alumni have ascended to the leadership ranks of the AOA and were elected to the Board of Trustees: James DeVleming, OD ’90, of Pullman, Washington; and Ron Benner, OD ’86, of Laurel, Montana.

Adding to his many honors over an illustrious career, Kenji Hamada, OD ’72, was inducted to the 2015 National Optometry Hall of Fame.  The AOA also honored former College of Optometry Dean Leland Carr, OD, with the Distinguished Service Award.

Dean Jennifer Coyle, OD ’93, MS, was recognized by the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) for her two terms of service as President.

The “Dr. Lester Janoff Award for Writing Excellence” recognizes the outstanding writing of a research article published in the ASCO Journal Optometric Education.  Three COO faculty members were honored: Denise Goodwin, OD ’98; John R. Hayes, MA, PhD; and Ken Koh, PhD, OD.

The AOA Contact Lens and Cornea Section bestowed the 2015 Legends Award to Professor Patrick Caroline. In recognition of her tireless work to provide vision care to babies, alumna and former Binocular Vision and Pediatrics Resident Kristi Kading, OD ‘ 04, received the David Sullins InfantSEE Award.

Optometry students were also well-represented as honorees at the meeting.  Brooke Harkness, OD ’16, received the Norman E. Wallis Award for the highest national score on Part I of the NBEO Exam.  At the Varilux Optometry Student Bowl, the enthusiasm from Pacific students earned them the coveted “Spirit Award and trophy”.  They also showed their athletic prowess at the Optometry Cares 5K.  Rachel Schreiber, OD ’17, was the first place female racer; and AOSA Trustee Zach Vonderach, OD ’17, came in 4th overall.

Congratulations to all the award winners and honorees.  You make us all proud

Monday, July 6, 2015