Latest Crop of Educators, Optometrists and Health Practitioners Graduate from Pacific


The newest crop of educators and healthcare practitioners graduated from Pacific University on Saturday, May 17 during the afternoon ceremony of the institution's spring commencement exercises.

Among the graduates were 33 students that comprised the initial cohort of the university's master of speech-language pathology degree. The two-year program began in August 2012 as part of the College of Education's School of Communication Sciences & Disorders.

Thirty-seven additional College of Education students from the School of Teaching & Learning graduated with either a master's degree in teaching or education.

From the College of Health Professions, 100 School of Pharmacy students marched to be hooded and receive their diplomas. The newly minted pharmacists followed 22 graduates from the School of Occupational Therapy, and were followed by 44 new alumni graduating from the college's School of Physical Therapy.

Nearly 90 students from the university's College of Optometry graduated on Saturday to cap the proceedings. Earlier in the ceremony, the 87 new optometrists and other grads heard a brief, but inspiring message from fellow alumnus Kirk Smick, '66, OD '67, who received the annual Kamelia Massih Prize for a Distinguished Optometrist during the ceremony.

"On days like this I am reminded how, much of our future, and much of what happens to us, is the direct result of our making the right decision at the right time," Smick told the graduates.

"Just like I made the right decision to attend Pacific University 50 years ago, you all have made the same right decision, and it will pay rewards the rest of your life. Continue to make the right decisions and you'll go a long ways."

Professional Schools & College Awards

Valedictorian, School of Occupational Therapy - Janelle Jones

Valedictorian, School of Physical Therapy - Jacki Carter

Valedictorian, College of Optometry - Amber Jeannotte

School of Occupational Therapy  Director’s Award - Hannah Frankamp

School of Pharmacy Dean’s Excellence Award - Blake Larson

School of Pharmacy Professionalism Award - Maricar Ebero, Pranesh Narayanaswami

School of Pharmacy Leadership Award - Christina Henry, James Huang, Blake Larson, Helen Lu

School of Pharmacy Community Service Award - Molly Devens, Eric Okazaki, Melina Wheeler

School of Pharmacy Boxer Spirit Award - Gianna Firpo, Rhea Flores, Lisa Carlson, Sarah-Jane Johnson

School of Pharmacy Ambassador Award - Kristine Malotte, Brian Tsai

School of Pharmacy: Facts and Comparisons/Lexi-Comp Excellence in Clinical Communication Award - Adam Shreve

School of Pharmacy: Lexi-Comp Excellence in Drug Information Award - Christopher Krey, Richard Lutz

School of Pharmacy: Eli Lilly Excellence in Diabetes Care Award - Nguyen Truong

School of Pharmacy: The Merck Award - Jason Melander, Robert Shannon

School of Pharmacy: Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award - Bich Nguyen

School of Pharmacy: Natural Products Database Award - Tina Huynh

Pharmacy Lifelong Learner Award - Jeanie Paek, Jessica Weiner

School of Pharmacy: Pfizer Excellence in Patient Care Award - Carrie Bartel

School of Pharmacy Excellence in Acute Care Award - Jenelle Stinson

School of Pharmacy Excellence in Ambulatory Care Award - Madaline Fry

School of Physical Therapy Community Service Award - Dane Chambers

School of Physical Therapy Director's Award - Michael Olson

College of Optometry: Alcon Clinical Case Report Award - Shannon Currier

College of Optometry: AOF/Vistakon Award of Excellence in CL Patient Care - Kate Dalrymple

College of Optometry Brian Lee Hill Memorial Award - Mackenzie Macintyre III

College of Optometry: BSK Chapter Award for Exceptional Research - James Sharp

College of Optometry: BSK Silver Medal Award - Amber Jeanotte

College of Optometry: Canela Software Digital Acuity Award - Alison Edwards

College of Optometry: COVD Award for Excellence in Vision Therapy - Kari Smart

College of Optometry Dean’s Award - Warren Whitley

College of Optometry: Designs for Vision William Feinbloom Low Vision Award - Ben Cannon

College of Optometry Donald A. Bybee Memorial Award for Vision Therapy - Leigh Gongaware

College of Optometry: Eschenbach Low Vision Award - Crystal Thanos

College of Optometry: GP Lens Institute GP CL Clinical Excellence Award - Yen Dang

College of Optometry: Marchon Practice Management Award - Cameron Horch

College of Optometry: NBEO Part 1 Highest Score - Cameron Horch

College of Optometry Outstanding Clinician Award - Carli Lancaster

College of Optometry Private Practice Scholarship - Emily Bjore, Scott Irvine

College of Optometry Tole Greenstein Award - Timothy Moore

College of Optometry: Optometric Physicians of Washington Student Member of the Year Award - Kristen Lambert

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate: School of Communication Sciences & Disorders - Sonja Miriello

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate: School of Occupational Therapy - Johanka Stavenik ’11, Kelly Greathouse ’11.

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate: School of Pharmacy - Lisa Carlson

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate: School of Physical Therapy - Zachary Christopherson

Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate: College of Optometry - Chantel Galipeau

Saturday, May 17, 2014