MFA Faculty Chris Abani Named a Finalist for 2024 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

The Pacific MFA is proud to announce that faculty writer Chris Abani has been named a finalist for the 2024 Neustadt International Prize for Literature.

From the Neustadt Prize website:

World Literature Today, the University of Oklahoma’s award-winning magazine of international literature and culture, has announced finalists for the 2024 Neustadt International Prize for Literature. This prestigious prize recognizes significant contributions to world literature and has a history as a lead-up to the Nobel Prize in Literature.

The nominees (with representative texts noted) for the 2024 Neustadt Prize, which carries a $50,000 cash award, are as follows:

  • Chris Abani (Nigeria) / Sanctificum
  • Angie Cruz (U.S.) / How Not to Drown in a Glass of Water
  • Ananda Devi (Mauritius) / Eve out of Her Ruins
  • Jenny Erpenbeck (Germany) / The End of Days
  • Nona Fernández (Chile) / The Twilight Zone
  • Juan Felipe Herrera (U.S.) / Every Day We Get More Illegal
  • Maxine Hong Kingston (U.S.) / The Woman Warrior
  • Valeria Luiselli (Mexico) / Lost Children Archive
  • Shahrnush Parsipur (Iran) / Women without Men

The Neustadt Prize is the first international literary award of its scope to originate in the United States and is one of very few international prizes for which poets, novelists, screenwriters and playwrights are equally eligible. Since 1970, it has been awarded every other year to a living writer in recognition of a significant body of work. Past winners include Gabriel García Márquez, Czesław Miłosz and Edwidge Danticat. The 2022 Neustadt Prize winner was francophone writer Boubacar Boris Diop.


Thursday, May 25, 2023