Outstanding Pacific Faculty & Staff Recognized at 2024 Honors & Awards Ceremony

Pacific University celebrated its outstanding employees May 8 at the 2024 Faculty & Staff Honors and Awards Ceremony. The annual ceremony recognizes employees for excellence in teaching, service, and student support. 

President Jenny Coyle '90, OD '93, MS '00 thanked faculty and staff as well as community and family members in attendance for carrying on the legacy of Pacific University's mission and work. This year's event was hosted by Blake Timm '98, Associate Director of Communications, who kept the audience entertained with trivia questions and prizes while awardees had commemorative photos taken. 

Awards recognized excellence in teaching, service and scholarship, for outstanding service to the university, and for work to advance diversity and inclusion. 

  • Jeane Canon, Executive Assistant to the Dean, College of Arts & Sciences | Splendid Audacity Award
  • Kathlene Postma, Creative Writing Professor, College of Arts & Sciences | President's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Jenna Thompson, Assistant Professor of English, College of Arts & Sciences | Provost's Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Ximena Keogh Serrano, Assistant Professor of Spanish and Latinx Studies, College of Arts & Sciences | Provost's Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship
  • Andrea Doerfler, Associate Professor of Social Work, College of Arts & Sciences | Provost's Junior Faculty Award for Excellence in Service
  • Alma Heredia Almonte, Student Services Coordinator, College of Health Professions | Boxer Spirit Award
  • Anne Carleton | Community Service Award
  • Tammy Scheenstra, Associate Director of Human Resources, Human Resources | Outstanding Leadership Award
  • Lena Cavusoglu, Assistant Professor of Marketing, College of Business | Kate Garrison "Overcoming the Odds" Award
  • Jennifer Bhalla, Kinesiology Professor, College of Arts & Sciences | University Diversity & Justice Award
  • Claudia Jacova Chenoweth, Clinical Psychology Professor, College of Health Professions | President's Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
  • Alessandra Govi, Assistant Director of Marketing & Admissions, College of Business | Dedication to Students Award
  • Becca Ellenbecker, Student Relations & Outreach Coordinator, College of Arts & Sciences | Outstanding Contribution to the University
  • Karl Citek, Optometry Professor, College of Optometry | Distinguished University Professor

Awardees are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of fellow faculty and staff members. Make a nomination now for the 2025 award season. 

Pacific also said goodbye to the following retirees and wished them well on their future adventures.

  • Lynn Fernando, Business Analyst/Programmer, University Information Services
  • Rosie Fiallo, Assistant Director of Communications, University Advancement
  • Jenny Pessereau, Assistant Director of Annual Giving, University Advancement
  • Ian Doyle, Associate Dean for Pharmacy Practice, College of Health Professions
  • Pedro Jacinto, Custodian, Facilities
  • Gary Godsil, Facilities Engineer, Facilities
  • Ted Krupika, Associate Chief Information Officer, Univeristy Information Services
  • Scott Tuomi, Professor and Director of Choral & Vocal Activities, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Corky McReynolds, Former Director of the Masters of Nonprofit Leadership Program, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Tim Stephens, Professor of Music, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Ann Barr-Gillespie, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

The Faculty and Honors Award Ceremony also recognized 90 employees for work anniversaries ranging from five to 40 years.

Colorful Rocks on the table Scott Tuomi and Jim Moore talking with staff staff and faculty enjoying the reception 

Wednesday, May 15, 2024