Pacific University Honors Excellence in Spring Class of 2020 | College of Optometry

The Pacific University College of Optometry is proud to recognize the outstanding graduates among its Class of 2020.

Pacific bestowed doctor of optometry degrees upon almost 100 students during a virtual commencement ceremony on May 16. Additionally, the university conferred its first three PhD in vision science degrees, along with master’s and bachelor of science degrees in vision science.

Meanwhile, the college celebrated its graduating students with an online awards ceremony the evening prior to commencement, recognizing outstanding graduates and scholarship recipients on behalf of both the college and its many partner organizations.

Celebrating its 75th anniversary this year, the Pacific University College of Optometry focus on preparing tomorrow’s doctors of optometry, while also serving the vision needs of the local community and advancing research in the industry.

2020 College of Optometry Award Recipients

AFVA and OPW Endowed Scholarship | Annie Han-Chi Yu
Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care | Liandra Marlise Jung
Brian Lee Hill Memorial Award | Alyssa Lyn Chin
Beta Sigma Kappa Chapter Award for Exceptional Research | Muteb Khalaf Alanazi
Beta Sigma Kappa Chapter Award for Exceptional Research | Sandhya Shekar
Valedictorians | Nadine Marie and Annette Odermatt
Beta Sigma Kappa Silver Medal Award | Nadine Marie and Annette Odermatt
COVD Award for Excellence in Vision Therapy | Cody Philip Blom
Dean’s Award | Helon Hei Lun Law
Dean’s Award | Laura Ozuna
Donald A. Bybee Memorial Award for Vision Therapy | Jessica Linh Pham
Drs. Dennis L. Smith & Nada J. Lingel Award for Excellence in Systemic Disease | Jordan Leigh Schmerbauch
GP Lens Institute Gas Permeable Contact Lens Clinical Excellence Award | Deidrie Jo Colter
NBEO Part 1 Highest Score | Cristian Nicolescu
Optelec Low Vision Award | Joyce Millares Trandem
OPW Student Member of the Year Award | Helon Hei Lun Law
Pacific University Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate Award for Optometry | Alyssa Lyn Chin
Pacific University Outstanding Clinician Award | Alexandria Nicole Jernberg
Pacific University College of Optometry Private Practice Scholarship | Joseph John Theodore Reynaud and Joseph Anthony Robalo
Tole Greenstein Award | Kara Nichole Webster
VSG Best MS Thesis Award | Sandhya Shekar
VSG Best PhD Dissertation Award | Muteb Khalaf Alanazi
VSG Creative Research Award | Ashley N. Stone
VSP & AAOF Practice Excellence Scholarship | Liandra Marlise Jung and Ashley N. Stone
William Feinbloom Low Vision Award | Nathan Kenji Choquette




Tuesday, May 19, 2020