Optometry Residency Programs

Residency programs are designed to prepare the optometric physician for careers in optometric education, research, and clinical positions requiring specialty training or clinical management. The one-year residencies offered by Pacific University College of Optometry and its affiliates provide a variety of mentored clinical experiences in the following.

  • Cornea & Contact Lenses
  • Geriatric Optometry
  • Low Vision Rehabilitation
  • Ocular Disease
  • Pediatric Optometry
  • Primary Care Optometry
  • Refractive and Ocular Surgery
  • Vision Therapy and Vision Rehabilitation

Review our programs and then contact the coordinator for additional details and application instructions.

Colorado

ICON Surgical Eye Care | Denver
Ocular Disease - Refractive and Ocular Surgery
Coordinator: Dr. Benjamin D. Sturdy | 720-524-1001 | ben.sturdy@iconeyecare.com

Minnesota

Bright Eyes Vision Clinic | Otsego and Minnetonka
Pediatric Optometry - Vision Therapy and Vision Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Jill Schultz  | 763-241-1090 | drschultz@thechildrenseyedoctor.com

Chu Vision Institute | Bloomington
Ocular Disease - Refractive and Ocular Surgery
Coordinator: Dr. Jessica Heckman  | 952-835-1235 | jessica.heckman@chuvision.com

Oregon

NW Eye Care Professionals | Beaverton, Clackamas, Hillsboro, OR & Vancouver WA
 Pediatric Optometry - Vision Therapy and Vision Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Bruce Wojciechowski | 503-657-0321 | Residency@doctorbruce.net

Pacific University & Associated ClinicsForest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro, Portland
Cornea and Contact Lenses
Coordinator: Dr. Matthew Lampa | 503-352-2278 | lampa@pacificu.edu

Pacific University & Associated Clinics Forest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro, Portland
Pediatric Optometry - Vision Therapy and Vision Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Graham Erickson | 503-352-3197 | graham@pacificu.edu  

VA Portland Health Care System  | Portland
Primary Care Optometry - Ocular Disease
Coordinator: Dr. Weon Jun | 503-220-8262, ext. 54400 | Weon.Jun@va.gov

VA Portland Health Care System | Salem
Primary Care Optometry - Ocular Disease
Coordinator: Dr. Russell Jew | 971-304-2210 | Russell.Jew2@va.gov

VA Southern Oregon Rehabilitation Center & Clinics | White City
Primary Care Optometry - Ocular Disease
Coordinator: Dr. Aaron Severson | 541-826-2111, ext. 3115 | Aaron.Severson@va.gov

Pennsylvania

Lebanon VAMC | Lebanon
Ocular Disease - Low Vision Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Kevin Wolford | 717-272-6621, ext. 6173 | Kevin.Wolford@va.gov

Washington

Jonathan Wainwright Memorial VAMC | Walla Walla
Ocular Disease - Refractive and Ocular Surgery
Coordinator: Dr. Jennifer Melsness | 509-525-5200 ext. 26308 | Jennifer.Melsness@va.gov

Mann-Grandstaff VAMC | Spokane
Ocular Disease - Primary Care Optometry
Coordinator: Dr. Allison Coit Makadia | 509-434-7250 | Allison.Coit@va.gov

Specialty Eyecare Group | Seattle
Cornea and Contact Lenses
Coordinator: Dr. David Kading | 425-821-8900 | Residency@Specialtyeye.com

VA Puget Sound Healthcare System | Tacoma
Primary Care Optometry - Geriatric Optometry
Coordinator: Dr. Kathryn Dailey | 253-583-1250 | Kathryn.Dailey3@va.gov

Vision Northwest  | Federal Way
Pediatric Optometry - Vision Therapy and Vision Rehabilitation - Brain Injury Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Curtis Baxstrom | 253-661-6005 | baxstrom@earthlink.net

Canada

Doctors Vision Centre Stonewall| Manitoba
Vision Rehabilitation - Pediatric Optometry - Vision Therapy and Vision Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Dawn Dunford | 204-467-8044 | drdawn@doctorsvision.ca