Optometry Residency Programs

Residency programs are designed to prepare the optometric physician for careers in optometric education, research, and clinical positions requiring specialty training or clinical management. The one-year residencies offered by Pacific University College of Optometry and its affiliates provide a variety of mentored clinical experiences in the following.

  • Cornea & Contact Lenses
  • Geriatric Optometry
  • Low Vision Rehabilitation
  • Ocular Disease
  • Pediatric Optometry
  • Primary Eye Care
  • Refractive & Ocular Surgery Co-Management
  • Vision Therapy & Rehabilitation

Review our programs and then contact the coordinator for additional details and application instructions.

Colorado

ICON Surgical Eye Care | Denver
Refractive & Ocular Surgery | Ocular Disease
Coordinator: Dr. Benjamin D. Sturdy | 720-524-1001 | ben.sturdy@iconeyecare.com

Minnesota

Bright Eyes Vision Clinic | Otsego and Minnetonka
Pediatrics—Vision Therapy—Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Jill Schultz  | 763-241-1090 | drschultz@thechildrenseyedoctor.com

Chu Vision Institute | Bloomington
Refractive & Ocular Surgery
Coordinator: Dr. Jessica Heckman  | 952-835-1235 | jessica.heckman@chuvision.com

Nevada

Eye Care Associates of Nevada Reno
Ocular Disease—Refractive & Ocular Surgery
Coordinator: Dr. Douglas Devries | 775-674-1100 | drdevries@nveyelaser.com

Oregon

NW Eye Care Professionals | Beaverton, Clackamas & Vancouver WA
 Vision Therapy—Rehabilitation and Pediatric Eye Care
Coordinator: Dr. Bruce Wojciechowski | 503-657-0321 | drbruce.drbruce@comcast.net

Pacific University & Associated Clinics | Forest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro, Portland
Cornea & Contact Lenses
Coordinator: Dr. Matthew Lampa | 503-352-2278 | lampa@pacificu.edu

Pacific University & Associated Clinics | Forest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro, Portland
Vision Therapy—Rehabilitation & Pediatric Eye Care
Coordinator: Dr. Graham Erickson | 503-352-3197 | ericksog@pacificu.edu   

VA Portland Health Care System | Bend
Primary Eye Care
Coordinator: Dr. Karen Wadhams | 541-647-5268 | Karen.Wadhams@va.gov

VA Portland Health Care System  | Portland
Primary Eye Care
Coordinator: Dr. Weon Jun | 503-220-8262, ext. 54400 | Weon.Jun@va.gov

VA Portland Health Care System | Salem
Primary Eye Care
Coordinator: Dr. Russell Jew | 971-304-2210 | Russell.Jew2@va.gov

VA Roseburg Healthcare System | Roseburg
Primary Eye Care—Ocular Disease
Coordinator: Dr. Bryan Deck | 541-440-1000, ext. 45789 | Bryan.Deck@va.gov

VA Southern Oregon Rehabilitation Center & Clinics | White City
Primary Eye Care—Ocular Disease
Coordinator: Dr. Aaron Severson | 541-826-2111, ext. 3115 | Aaron.Severson@va.gov

Pennsylvania

Lebanon VAMC | Lebanon
Ocular Disease—Low Vision Rehabilitation
Coordinator: Dr. Kevin Wolford | 717-272-6621, ext. 6173 | Kevin.Wolford@va.gov

Washington

Jonathan Wainwright Memorial VAMC | Walla Walla
Primary Eye Care—Refractive & Ocular Surgery with emphasis in Ocular Disease & Geriatric Optometry
Coordinator: Dr. Jodi Moore | 509-527-3491 | Jodi.Moore2@va.gov

Mann-Grandstaff VAMC | Spokane
Ocular Disease—Cornea & Contact Lenses
Coordinator: Dr. Allison Coit Makadia | 509-434-7250 | Allison.Coit@va.gov

VA Puget Sound Healthcare System | Tacoma
Primary Eye Care—Geriatric Optometry
Coordinator: Dr. Jeffery A. Hiett | 253-583-1250 | Jeffery.Hiett@va.gov

Vision Northwest  | Federal Way
Vision Therapy—Rehabilitation & Pediatric Eye Care
Coordinator: Dr. Curtis Baxstrom | 253-661-6005 | baxstrom@earthlink.net