University Council Committees

University Council - University Standing Committees 2021-2022

The University Council oversees the following University Standing committees. These committees bring proposals for action to the University Council. Chapter 2 of the University Faculty and Governance Handbook lists the details of the committee responsibilities. If you need links to past minutes or rosters for committees, please email


Health and Safety Advisory Committee
The committee works to review, evaluate and make recommendations regarding safety and emergency planning activities at all university locations. The committee will conduct and/or review regular inspections of university facilities, grounds, and the university environment to identify safety issues, and evaluate compliance with university safety policies and procedures.

Chair: Todd Tracewell |


Judicial Oversight Committee
The University Judicial Oversight Committee will serve as an advisory board to the Provost and/or Vice President for Student Affairs as needed for issues of policy or procedure for University Standing Judicial Committees.

Chair: TBD


Student Conduct Board
Adjudicate all issues referred to it by the Student Conduct Advisor, which include both minor and major infractions of the Student Code of Conduct.

Staff Advisor: TBD


University Diversity Committee
The committee works to advance the university’s goal of achieving diversity in enrollment and the composition of faculty and staff. The committee advises the University Council on matters related to equity and diversity to advance the University’s mission and vision.

Chair: Sara Summers | 


University Finance Committee

The University Finance Committee will review and discuss the University’s financial operations to help facilitate communication within the university community as it pertains to employee benefits, the budget and financial aid. The committee serves in an advisory role to the Vice President of Finance and Administration.

Chair: Mary Mitchell |


University Honors and Awards Committee
The committee is responsible for recommending to the president individuals for honorary awards. At least once each year the committee will solicit recommendations from the University Community for staff, faculty and community awards.

Chair: Kim Malin|

Healthcare Clinic Operations and Compliance Committee

The committee provides a structured setting to share ideas and encourage discussion, collaboration, and exploration of topics concerning clinic operations and compliance. The group works to identify possible opportunities to improve efficiency and standardize clinic operations and compliance activities across the university.

Chair: Melissa Fryer |


University Technology Committee

The committee represents the university community in evaluating and recommending technology policy, educational technologies, implementation of new technologies, and providing feedback to the Chief Information Officer on the allocation of infrastructure resources.

Chair: Brian Jackson |


Cultural Collections Committee

The committee ensures sound stewardship of the university's cultural resources, advocates and promotes the university's collections, and encourages and supports the integration of cultural resources into the educational activities of the university.

Chair: Rebecca Twist |