Undergraduate Philosophy Conference

The Pacific University Undergraduate Philosophy Conference is an annual, two-day conference held each spring, attracting students from across the country and internationally. Since 1997, more than 1,400 students from over 350 schools have participated in our conference.

These students represent all 50 US states as well as a number of Canadian provinces and several other countries. All of the participants are undergraduate students, with the exception of the annual keynote address by a renowned philosopher. Past keynote speakers have included Paul Churchland, Hilary Putnam, John Searle, Keith Lehrer, Catherine Elgin, John Perry, Hubert Dreyfus, Jerry Fodor, Alvin Plantinga, Cora Diamond, James Sterba, Peter Kivy, Walter Sinnott-Armstrong, Daniel Dennett, Elliott Sober, and Alva Noë.

22nd Annual Pacific University Undergraduate Philosophy Conference

  • April 20 through April 21, 2018
  • Pacific University — Forest Grove, Ore.
  • Keynote speaker: L.A. Paul

The purpose of this conference is to provide a forum for the presentation of philosophical work of undergraduates to their peers.

Submission Guidelines

Papers are required to be of philosophical content, but there are no specific restrictions on subject matter within the arena of philosophical discussion itself. Papers should be approximately 3,000 words (10-12 pages).

Electronic submissions (as Word documents) are required and should be sent to Ian O'Loughlin at ian.oloughlin@pacificu.edu. Submissions should include both the paper and an abstract (that is, a 100-200 word summary of the paper).

Submission deadline is Feb. 1, 2018. Final decisions will be made no later than Feb. 28, 2018.

Selected papers from the conference will be published in the journal Res Cogitans.


Electronic registration is available. Registration fee: $50. Three meals will be provided to registered attendees: Friday night banquet, Saturday breakfast and lunch.