News, Media and Stories | Student Awards

Amy Neideffer Teaser Image
Amy Neideffer OD ’22 received the Pacific University College of Optometry 2022 Optelec Low Vision Award.
Christian DeJongh OD ’22 and Alex Schoen OD ’22 received the Pacific University 2022 Vision Service Plan/American Academy of Optometry Foundation Practice Excellence Scholarship.
Peiran Si Teaser Image
Peiran Si ’20, MSVS ’22 earned the Pacific University 2022 Best MS in Vision Science Research Award.
Kathleen Thomas Teaser Image
Kathleen Thomas OD ’22 is the Pacific University College of Optometry Class of 2022 valedictorian and the recipient of the Beta Sigma Silver Medal Award.
Professor Zijdemans Boudreau, director of the School of Education & Learning in Pacific University's College of Education, paid tribute to senior students in Education & Learning at the 2022 Undergraduate Awards Ceremony.
Alex Hays receives her Pacific University diploma on stage with Narce Rodriguez
"While she is most certainly an intelligent, creative, resourceful, and generally remarkable student and scholar, she has truly distinguished herself through her service and collaboration with others in our university community," said Dave Cordes, Hays' academic advisor.
Ollie Kurk
"Ollie Kurk is an exceptional thinker and writer who distinguished herself early on at Pacific University," nominators wrote.
Mitchell Ulrich '22 receives a Pacific University diploma with Narce Rodriguez
Mitchell Ulrich '22 was announced as a winner of a Fulbright Scholarship at Pacific University's 2022 Undergraduate Student Awards.
"Taiba has taken every opportunity to learn from challenges and to improve," nominators wrote. "She brings a desire to do the right thing and doesn't want to let herself or her instructors down. She is open to critique and is honest and self-reflective when she knows there are areas where she can improve."
Wendy Fargo receives a Pacific University diploma on stage with Narce Rodriguez
Fargo is "a natural leader for the staff at the CGE," said Center for Gender Equity Director V Martin.